11 from M. D. Anderson earn AACR Scholar-in-Training Awards

| Comments (0)

Young scientists from M. D. Anderson earned eleven Scholar-in-Training Awards at the American Association for Cancer Research 100th Annual Meeting 2009, the most of any institution at the session in Denver.

 About 17,000 scientists from 90 countries are attending. The highly competitive travel grants go to postdoctoral fellows and graduate students judged to have submitted meritorious abstracts for the AACR meeting.  Overall, 200 were awarded.

Three of M. D. Anderson's winners came from the lab of XifengWu in the Department of Epidemiology - two postdocs and one graduate student.

M. D. Anderson honorees are:

Ahmed A. Ahmed of Experimental Therapeutics
Ugur Akar, Breast Medical Oncology
Chandra Bartholomeusz, Breast Medical Oncology
Tina Cascone, Thoracic Head and Neck Medical Oncology
Meng Chen, Epidemiology, and a graduate student in The University of Texas Graduate School of Biomedical Sciences.
Puja Gaur, Surgical Oncology.
Longfei Huo, Molecular and Cellular Oncology
Xia Pu, Epidemiology
Manish Shanker, Thoracic and Cardiovascular Surgery
Jingmin Shu, Leukemia
Hushan Yang, Epidemiology. 

Leave a comment


Connect on social media

Sign In